Distillation - main principles


This page presents distillation :

Origins of distillation

Essential oil distillationDistillation appeared well before rhum agricole and seems to be known from the 3rd or the 4th millennium B.C and could have originated in Mesopotamia or in Pakistan. Distillation was at first intended to produce essential oils (rose, ...) rather than alcohol. Distillation was conducted using apparatus similar to the on illustrated here.

An aqueous solution was heated and the small droplets condensing on the lid were conveyed towards the peripheral gutter. The solution in the main tank was hence more and more concentrated.

Distillation was later perfected by alchemists searching for the philosopher's stone. They made the first "aqua vitae" (water of life), supposed to bring longevity. From 1000 AD, Abulcasis (Abu al-Qasim al-Zahrawi) an Arab surgeon in Cordoba, distillates wine and later at the 12th century, European alchemists perfected the process. Alcohol is produced in very small quantities and is only use as a medication.
Alcohol kept its medication status until the 15th century. In 1411 tax papers attest the sale of aygardent (burning water) in Gascogne (South west fo France) and the alcohol business did not really develop itself until the 17th century with whisky, vodka and cognac.

Distillation principles

Distillation is a method of separating the constituents of mixture (either a liquid or q gaseous one). It is a physical process and not a chemical reaction using the different boiling temperatures of the constituents to separate them from the others. In the rhum agricole context, we are dealing with alcoholic distillation, a way of separation alcohol from water. Alcohol can be segregated from water thanks to the different boiling temperatures (78,4°C/173°F for ethanol and 100°C/212°F for water). Alcoholic vapours are first to get out of the heated solution. Cooling those vapours creates a solution more concentrated in alcohol than the first one.
Since the solution to be distilled contains other constituents than ethanol and water, the distilled liquid contains some of these too. Some constituents are undesirable (i.e. methanol) others are highly sought as aromatic components which gives rhum its distinctive perfume. Those aromatic components are specific to the way the rhum was produced (fermentation, distillation, ...).

 

Alembics

alembic

Illustration of an alembic, adapted from a Wikipedia illustration

(a) Curcubit, containing the wine to be heated;
(b) Lid, covering the curcubit;
(c) Tube conveying vapors towrads the condenser ;
(d) Condenser where vapors, cooled by a water flow, condense.

First modern stills were created by Albucasis. Those apparatuses quickly cooled the alcoholic vapours, enabling the operator to retrieve liquid alcohol.

These first units could not separate esters from alcohol. Esters being responsibles for bad tastes, alcoholic beverages used to be highly flavored (anise, juniper, ...). The process was perfected with the use of pot stills where the liquid obtained from the first distillation was re heated and introduced  once again for a second distillation. These two distillations allow to separate the heart (alcohol) from heads (esters, methanol) and tails (water). A well known example of this kind of still is the charantais alembic, used in the French Charente region to produce Cognac :

alambic charentais
Charentais alembic illustration,
Rhum, eaux de vie de canne D Kervegant - 1946

During the 19th century, distillation technics were perfected with the introduction of reflux stills. Those alembics were imported from English speaking islands since those islands' rums were highly regarded with a quality clearly outperforming the quality attained ion the French islands. Those apparels are adapted and called Père Labat alembic even if the priest actually died more than a century ago, without even designing anything close.

alambic pere labat
Père Labat alembic,
Rhum, eaux de vie de canne D Kervegant - 1946

Distillation columns

From the second half of the 19th century, distillation went continuous with the introduction of column still distillation.

Distillation du vesou


Cette page présente la distillation :

Origines de la distillation

distillation d huiles essentiellesLa distillation est bien antérieure au rhum agricole et semble connue depuis environ le 3ème ou 4ème millénaire avant Jesus-Christ. Cette origine, soumise à caution se situerait en Mésopotamie ou au Pakistan. Il s'agissait de distillation d'huiles essentielles (eau de rose, ...) et non de distillation alcoolique. La distillation s'effectuait avec des appareils tels que celui illustré ci.

La solution aqueuse était chauffée et les petites gouttes formées par la condensation sur le couvercle ruisselaient vers la rigole en pourtour. Le contenu du récipient principal devenait ainsi de plus en plus concentré.

La recherche de la pierre philosophale conduit les alchimistes à pousser l'art de la distillation avec les premières production de "aqua vitae" ou eau de vie (censée apporter la longévité) . Dès l'an mil Abulcasis (Khalaf ibn Abbas Al-Zahrawi) chirurgien arabe de Cordoue distille du vin puis au 12ème siècle les occidentaux perfectionnent le procédé. L'alcool est produit en de très petites quantités et est à destination uniquement médicale.
Il faut attendre le 15ème siècle pour que se développe le commerce d'alccol non médical avec notamment en 1411 la vente attestée en Gascogne d'aygardent (eau ardente). Cette industrie ne se développe cependant qu'à partir du 17ème siècle avec les whisky, vodka et cognac.

Principe de la distillation alcoolique

La distillation a pour but de séparer les constituants d'un gaz, d'un liquide. Dans le cas du rhum agricole, il s'agit de distillation alcoolique, le but étant de séparer l'alcool de l'eau. Cette séparation s'effectue par chauffage et s'appuie sur les différences de températures d'ébullition de l'éthanol 78,4°C et de l'eau 100°C. Les vapeurs d'alcool s'échappent en premier et le refroidissement de ces vapeurs permet de récupérer un liquide beaucoup plus concentré que celui d'origine.
Le liquide à distiller ne contenant pas uniquement de l'alcool et de l'eau, le liquide obtenu contient tout ou partie de ces autres éléments. Certains sont non désirables comme le méthanol, d'autres vivement recherchés comme les composés aromatiques. Dans le cas du rhum agricole, ces aromatiques sont spécifiques à la distillerie, aux champs où ont poussé les cannes, bref du terroir. C'est cette spécificité du terroir qui rend chaque rhum agricole différent au contrario des rhums industriels aux productions plus "calibrées".

Alambics

alambic

Illustration d'alambic, adaptée d'une illustration wikipedia
(a) la chaudière où se trouvent les liquides à distiller. Elle est chauffée directement ou par bain Marie;
(b) le chapiteau qui recouvre la chaudière;
(c) le col de cygne conduisant les vapeurs vers le condenseur ;
(d) le condenseur dans lequel les vapeurs se condensent par l'effet du refroidissement dû à la circulation d'eau froide.

Les premiers alambics modernes sont dus à Albucasis. Ces appareils permettent par un refroidissement rapide des vapeurs de récupérer les vapeurs d'alcool sous forme liquide.

Ces premiers appareils ne permettent pas de séparer les esters de l'alcool. Ces esters étant responsables de mauvais goûts, les premiers alcools sont fortement aromatisés (anis, genièvre, ...). Un perfectionnement intervient avec les alambics à repasse ou le fruit d'une première distillation est réchaufé puis réintroduit pour une seconde distillation. Ces deux distillations permettent de séparer le coeur (alcool) de la tête (esters) et de la queue (eau). L'exemple le plus connu de ce type d'alambic est l'alambic charantais :

alambic charentais
Illustration d'alambic charentais,
Rhum, eaux de vie de canne D Kervegant - 1946

Au cours du 19ème siècle la technique de distillation du rhum s'affine avec notamment l'introduction des alambics à double cornue. Ces alambics proviennent des antilles anglophones dont la qualité de rhum surpasse très nettement ceux des antilles francophones. Ces appareils sont adaptés et prennent le nom d'alambic Père Labat, bien que ce dernier n'ai jamais imaginé un tel alambic et se soit éteint plus d'un siècle auparavant.

alambic pere labat
Alambic Père Labat,
Rhum, eaux de vie de canne D Kervegant - 1946

Distillation continue

A partir de la seconde moitié du 19ème siècle, la distillation devient continue avec l'apparition des colonnes à distiller.